Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.   Thread: Are we falling into a trap of addiction with this game? addicts?

Lightbulb Are we falling into a trap of addiction with this game? addicts?

I've just realized that I've been playing this game for roughly 6 years, with maybe a year off in that period only due to lack of internet. It started out when the 2nd gen 2013 Nexus 7 came out and was given to me as a christmas gift. That christmas holiday week I saw many ads on TV of Clash of Clans and into the new year of 2014. It was the first app of very few I installed on the Nexus 7 and the only one I ever really used.

I never really thought of a video game as being an addiction because you tend to finish the game. However with this game it's different. This game has a structure to it that conditions you in a way to never want to leave and to keep coming back. I don't mean to put any blame on Supercell at least not in large part. All they did was create a fun albeit slow paced time consuming and sometimes frustrating game that they continue to refresh with content updates. And well that unexpected lucky 3 star can feel quite rewarding.

The Lure:
    The game feels new and adventurous like you're discovering something for the first time. The general chat when it still existed gave isolated players a sense of connection to the outside world, but mostly a place for all to gripe, vent, bully, or troll. The game has a strategic aspect to it so that you feel like you're using your brain. It was the new cool and popular thing, even celebrities were playing it like in the ads. Everyone's doing it.

The Never Ending Chase: